Civil Litigation
Roland K. Johnson

 About Roland

A proven leader in the Texas legal community, Roland Johnson served as president of the State Bar of Texas for 2009-2010. 

Roland is licensed to practice before the U.S. District Court for the Northern, Eastern, Western and Southern Districts of Texas; the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit; and the U.S. Supreme Court. His extensive experience benefits his clients in their quest for justice in commercial litigation, arbitrations and legal malpractice matters.

Roland has been repeatedly honored for his professionalism and legal knowledge. Roland is often asked to speak on ethics, professionalism, arbitration, and leadership issues.

Additional Highlights

  • President, State Bar of Texas (2009–2010)
  • Member, American Law Institute
  • Member, American Board of Trial Advocates
  • Member of American Arbitration Association's Commercial and Large/Complex Case Panels
  • Fellow - College of Commercial Arbitrators
  • Board Certified - Civil Trial Law
  • Chair (2013), Charter Fellow, Sustaining Life Fellow of the Tarrant County Bar Foundation
  • Life Fellow of American Bar Foundation
  • Member, The Board of Disciplinary Appeals (20132019)
  • Board Member (20122015) and Sustaining Life Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation
  • Board Member, Texas Access to Justice Foundation
    • Member, Texas Access to Justice Legislative Committee 
  • Commissioner, Texas Access to Justice Commission
  • Member, Judicial Committee on Information Technology
  • Member, Dean's Advisory Council, Texas A&M University School of Law
    • Board Member, College of the State Bar of Texas
  • Member, Texas Association of Defense Counsel
  • Commissioner, Fort Worth Civil Service Commission (1990–1999); Chair (1994–1999)
  • President, Tarrant County Bar Association (2001–2002); Professionalism Award (2004)
  • Member, Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism
  • Chair, Professionalism Committee, State Bar of Texas (2007–2008)
  • President, Eldon B. Mahon Inn of Court (2007– 2008)
    • Honorary Serjeant's Inn of Dallas–Fort Worth Inns of Court 
  • President, Baylor Alumni Association (20112012)
  • State Bar of Texas: Michael J. Crowley Award (2011)
  • Board Member of the State Bar of Texas (2003–2006)
    • In 2006, named Outstanding Third Year Director of the State Bar of Texas 
  • The Best Lawyers in America® - (20092017) for work in practice areas of Bet-the-Company Litigation and Commercial Litigation
  • Named Top 100 Super Lawyer in Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex by Thomson Reuters, as published in Texas Monthly magazine (2016)
  • Texas Super Lawyers, by Thomson Reuters, as published in Texas Monthly magazine (2003present)
  • Power Lawyer (2008), Fort Worth Business Press
  • Texas Wesleyan University School of Law's Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Award (2005)
  • Graduate, Baylor University School of Law (JD, cum laude, 1979)
    • Associate Editor, Baylor Law Review
  • Graduate, Baylor University (BS magna cum laude, 1976)
  • Swine Barn Superintendent. Southwestern Exposition & Livestock Show (1998–present)
  • Board Member, Southwestern Exposition & Livestock Show